Tools and Settings
The EventStudio Tools and Settings tabs allow the Writer or Producer to customize the event before launch using Prep Mode or after launch during the live event.
The Writer or Producer can easily update any of these Settings during the live event from the "Settings" tab found in the EventStudio toolbar.
- Event Title: For live events the event title displays on the top header of the Viewer Window and on the event TitlePage. To change the event title, enter a new title into the field provided and click save. Note: The display of the Event Title may appear differently if you are using a Custom Skin.
- Your Display Name: When the display name option is turned on, your display name will appear next to your posted comments. When an event has more then one contributor display names appear automatically. To edit your own display name enter a new name and click save.
- Writer Avatar: This option turns avatars on for all event Writers/Contributors. Avatars appear next to the posted comment.
- Reader Comments: This setting controls whether Readers are allowed to submit comments during your event. By default events have Reader Comments turned on. To turn this off slide to "off". This will hide the Reader comment box in the Viewer Window and Readers will no longer be able to submit comments.
- Reader Attachments: This setting allows Readers to attach images to their comments. All submitted images can be previewed and published at your discretion. This option is not available when Reader Comments have been turned off.
- Email Comments: Allow your Readers to submit comments and images via email. All submitted items can be previewed and published at your discretion. When this option is activated a message will appear in the Viewer Window Notification Center, inviting users to submit comments using a unique email address. Learn More
- System Sounds: Turning this on mutes console system sound for all Readers/Contributors. For example, when a new post is published the clackclack notification sound will be muted. Turning sound off does NOT impact video playback.
- YouTube Auto-Play: By default YouTube videos do not auto-play when published (the Reader controls playback). When this option is turned "on" then YouTube videos will auto-play immediately when published.
- Instagram Auto-Play: By default Instagram videos do not auto-play when published (the Reader controls playback). When this option is turned "on" then Instagram videos will auto-play immediately when published.
- Audio Auto-Play: By default Audio files do not auto-play when published (the Reader controls playback). When this option is turned "on" then audio files will auto-play immediately when published.
- "ENTER KEY" to Post Text: Turning on enables post text via Enter key. This allows you to write comments and click "enter" to post (rather then needing to click the "Post" button or "ctrl + return).
- Show Published Tags and Categories: Turning on will show Tag Colors and Tag Categories in the Published Content. These tags are for view in EventStudio only. They are not shown to your audience. You can add or change both Tag Colors or Category Tags. The primary purpose of tagging published entries is to have those carried over to the "event/data" API call to extract event data.
- Social Sharing: The social sharing options allows you to control whether or not your readers can share content from your event using Facebook & Twitter. Learn more about sharing via Facebook. Learn more about Publicizing your events via Twitter.
- Location / URL: Enter the web address of your live event. This address will be included in any shared Facebook and Twitter links, on event email invites, reader reminders and in the Live Now Listings. It's important to provide the correct public location as this address is used to drive traffic back to your live event.
- Always Allow: To allow a Reader's comments to automatically publish into your live event, click and slide the scrollbar to "UNMODERATED". The Reader will receive a private message informing them that all of their comments are now unmoderated.
- Moderated: To set a Reader's comments as moderated, click and slide the scrollbar to "MODERATED". The Reader will receive a private message informing them that all of their comments are now moderated. Moderated comments appear in your Smart Stream/ Comments Search list, and must be manually published by the Writer or Producer.
- Banned: To ban a Reader's comments, click and slide the scrollbar to "BAN". Banned Readers can continue to view the event and submit comments, but their comments will no longer appear in the Event Studio (so you will never see them). Banned users are NOT informed that they have been banned.
The Writer or Producer can easily use any of these Tools from the "Tools" tab found in the EventStudio toolbar.
- Refresh Display: Refreshes the Console (browser) without impacting your Readers.
- Get Embed Code: Generates the embed code required to embed the Viewer Window onto a website. Copy and paste the code into your site. Ideally you should always place the embed code *before* launching your event.
- Invite your Readers: Click the link found in your Tools tab to invite Readers via email to the live event. A link to the location of the event will be sent. You can include a custom message in your email invite.
- Get Contributor Email Address: Writers/Panelists/Producers can use this unique email address to send content (comments, photos, audio and video) directly into this live event. Submitted comments will appear directly in the event without any moderation required. Emails must be sent from a Writers/Panelist/Producer's approved email address.
- Clear all Entries: Deletes all published entries from the Viewer Window and EventStudio.
- Clear all Reader Comments: Removes all Reader Comments from your SmartStream and from Search. This will not effect any published entries that appear in the Viewer Window.
- End your Live Event: Permanently ends the live event. Once ended your event will automatically go into Replay Mode to provide a permanent archive of the event content. Readers can continue to view the Replay, but no new content can be added. Detailed event Stats will be available in your Account.
- Permanently End Ticker: Completes the Ticker so that no further entries can be published. The final 1,500 entries will be transformed into an instant Replay.